Festivals & Public Holidays

Hindu Festival Calendar 2023 is presented here along with dates for all the festivals and holidays celebrated in Hindu Religion. Know more on Hindu Holidays and Festivals in 2023.

Home : Religious Festivals : Hindu Holidays 2023

Hindu Festivals 2023

Hindu Festivals - The followers of Hinduism celebrate festivals related to Hindu Gods and ancient Hindu mythology. Hindus celebrate almost everything from birthday of Gods, religious significance to spring festivals such as Holi. Fast and rituals like aarti are a part of these Hindu religious celebrations which may last up to several days. Navratri is one such festival which is observed for almost 9 days twice a year. Some of these festivals are celebrated with great pomp and show across India. Diwali is one such Hindu festival which is celebrated by almost every Indian worldwide.


India, the land of varied cultures, ethnic groups, and traditions is a land of festivals and fairs. The country is home to people with diverse religions and faiths. Hinduism however dominates all the other religions and has the longest list of festivals owing to its widespread presence, regional variations, and number of followers.


Though, the major Hindu festivals are not just those which call for national holidays. One of the most peculiar features of Hindu festivals is that they encompass almost anything to everything, and that too has a quintessential divine aspect to it. There are celebrations typically for manifestations of gods and goddesses in their varied avtars, death of asuras (demons) and triumph of the gods. Ritualistic feasts are also carried out for seasons, days of the week, planetary events, lunar or solar eclipse and other phases of the moon, vedic principles, and even for creatures like snakes (Nag Panchami).


Diwali Hindu Festival

Diwali, Holi, Raksha Bandhan, Dussehra, and Janmashtami are the major Hindu festivals that are celebrated throughout the country with utmost fervor and gusto and involve lots of customs and rituals. Each festival has a deity presiding over it and all the festivities focusing on it. During Navratri, women put on all the adornments and are traditionally dressed up in tones of red, which appeal to Goddess Durga, the presiding deity of the festival.Some festivals celebrate a significant event in the life of a deity e.g. Janmashtami observes the birthday of Lord Krishna, while some are seasonal festivities or customs, like Holi.Some festivals are exclusively regional, like Onam in Kerala, whereas Hindu festivals such as Diwali, Dussehra, and Ganesh Chaturthi are now being celebrated globally.


During Hindu festivals, devotees observe rigorous fasts, visit the temple and worship the deities. Distribution of prasad, singing devotional chants (bhajans), decorating houses and temples are other major practices of the day. In a nutshell, each event in Hinduism has religious overtones and legends involving different gods.


With abundant holy days, the Hindu almanac is sprinkled considerably with a string of major festivals and a fever of celebrations one after the other. No matter what is the mode of celebration or the reason to celebrate - the Hindu festivals add to the colourful facet of India's cultural diversity, and leave enduring imprints of delight in the minds of people until another festival arrives.


List of Hindu festivals and religious celebrations in 2023.


2023 Hindu Holidays

Date Day Festival / Vrat / Upvas Type
Jan 12 Thursday Swami Vivekananda Jayanti Regarded as Great Leader
Jan 15 Sunday Makar Sankranti Hindu Festival
Jan 20 Friday Masik Shivaratri A day Dedicated to worship Lord Shiva (every month)
Jan 21 Friday Sakat Chauth, Sankashti Chaturthi Dedicated to Goddess Sakat, Lord Ganesha is also worshipped
Jan 21 Saturday Mauni Amavasya Hindu Festival
Jan 22 Sunday Magha Gupta Navratri Begins Begining of first Navratri of the Year
Jan 26 Thursday Vasant Panchami

Dedicated to Hindu goddess Saraswati also popular as Saraswati Puja.

Feb 05 Sunday Magha Purnima, Purnima Upavas, Guru Ravidas Jayanti Hindu Festival
Feb 18 Saturday Maha Shivaratri Hindu Festival
Mar 07 Tuesday Chhoti Holi, Holika Dahan Hindu Festival
Mar 08 Wednesday Holi Festival of Colors
Mar 15 Wednesday Basoda, Sheetala Ashtami Hindu Festival
Mar 22 Wednesday Chaitra Navratri Hindu Festival
Mar 22 Wednesday Gudi Padwa Hindu Festival
Mar 22 Wednesday Ugadi Hindu Festival
Mar 30 Thursday Ram Navami

Birthday of Lord Rama is celebrated in Hindu Religion.

Apr 04 Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti  
Apr 06 Thursday Hanuman Jayanti Lord Hanuman birth anniversary
Apr 14 - 16 Friday ~ Sunday Rongali Bihu Hindu Festival
Apr 14 Friday Solar New Year, Mesha Sankranti  
Apr 15 Saturday Pohela Boishakh Bengali New Year
Apr 22 Saturday Akshaya Tritiya/ Akha Teej Hindu Festival
Apr 22 Saturday Parashurama Jayanti

Celebrated as birth anniversary of Guru Parashurama - An incarnation of Hindu God Lord Vishnu.

May 01 Monday Thrissur Pooram Largest and most famous of all poorams
May 05 Friday Buddha Purnima Hindu Festival
May 09 Tuesday Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti Hindu Festival
May 23 Tuesday Maharana Pratap Jayanti Hindu Festival
May 30 Tuesday Ganga Dussehra Hindu Festival
Jun 20 Tuesday Jagannath Rath Yatra Hindu Festival
Jul 03 Monday Guru Purnima Hindu Festival
Aug 19 Saturday Hariyali Teej, Andal Jayanthi  
Aug 21 Monday Nag Panchami  
Aug 30 Wednesday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Festival
Sep 06 & 07 Wednesday, Thursday Sri Krishna Janmashtami

Celebrated as birthday of Hindu God Lord Krishna.

Sep 07 Thursday Dahi Handi Hindu Festival
Sep 17 Sunday Vishwakarma Puja Celebrates Birth of Vishwakarma (A Hindu God)
Sep 18 Monday Hartalika Teej Hindu Festival
Sep 19 Tuesday Ganesh Chaturthi Hindu Festival
Sep 28 Thursday Ganesh Visarjan Hindu Festival
Oct 15 - 24 Sunday ~ Tuesday Sharad Navratri begins

Shardiya Navratri also known as Maha Navratri is the biggest and most popular festival in Hindu Religion.

Oct 22 Sunday Durga Ashtami Hindu Festival
Oct 24 Tuesday Dussehra, Durga Visarjan, Vijayadashami, Mysore Dasara Hindu Festival
Oct 28 Saturday Sharad Purnima Hindu Festival
Oct 28 Saturday Valmiki Jayanti Hindu Festival
Nov 01 Wednesday Karva Chauth Hindu Festival
Nov 10 Friday Dhan Teras Hindu Festival
Nov 11 Saturday Narak Chaturdashi, Kali Chaudas Hindu Festival
Nov 12 Sunday Diwali, Lakshmi Puja, Dipmalika Hindu Festival
Nov 14 Tuesday Govardhan Puja, Bali Pratipada, New Samvat Begins Hindu Festival
Nov 14 Tuesday Bhaiya Dooj Hindu Festival
Nov 17 Friday Chhath Puja Begins (Nahai Khai) Tritiya, Nahay Khay
Nov 19 Sunday Chhath Puja Ends (Sandhya Argh) Shashthi, Chhath Puja
Dec 11 Monday Masik Shivaratri

Hindu devotees worship Lord Shiva every month and keep fast.


Religious Festivals

Countries by Alphabets
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z